Understanding the CRA’s Organizational Structure: The Different Departments in the CRA

by in Tax Advice Information and Updates
Understanding the CRA’s Organizational Structure:  The Different Departments in the CRA
Under the Commissioner and Chief Executive Officer, there are 12 headquarter branches and 5 regional branches.

• 5 of these headquarter branches are Program Branches, which provide policy and technical support to individuals and businesses through the CRA’s tax service offices and regional tax centres. These 5 program branches include
o Assessment, Benefit and Service
o Compliance programs
o Collections and Verification Branch
o Appeals
o Legislative Policy and Regulatory Affairs
• 7 of the remaining headquarter branches are corporate support branches such as finance and human resources management.
• The 5 regional branches are responsible for the establishment of program policies and procedures in their respective regions. These branches are led by a Regional Assistant Commissioner.

The CRA operates 51 local tax services offices and regional tax centres. Tax services offices deliver excise (HST/GST) and income tax programs including audit, collections, payroll compliance and appeals. Regional tax centres, on the other hand, are primarily tasked with processing individual and corporate income tax, GST, other returns and payments and delivering benefits programs.

Source: https://www.canada.ca/en/revenue-agency.html
Rate this blog entry:
KD PROFESSIONAL is a group of interconnected companies offering a wide range of financial, accounting and tax services to individuals and businesses across Canada.

Through our experienced staff and strategic alliances, we provide exemplary service and solutions to maximize your cash flow, while preserving Wealth.


  • No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

Leave your comment

Guest Monday, 18 March 2019